Saturday night, I was out watching a band play, and between sets, the drummer was actually sitting alone at a table, reading … Thoreau of all things.  I said offhandedly that he ought to get a Kindle so he can carry around as many books as he wants.  He looked at me blankly.

“Kindle? Like the stuff you start fires with?”

My roommate chimed in: “That’s kindling.”

I had thus found the first person I knew living in a civilized metropolitan area (no redneck jokes, please) who had not yet heard of the Kindle and all that goes with it.  But how appropriate, thought I, that the ubiquitous device’s name is so apropos.

Starting a fire indeed.

Here are some interesting articles, with links to additional reporting and blogs.  If you are a writer, a reader, or anyone interested in business (especially its growth at a decidedly non-growth time), these are worth a look.

Future of media: The rise of the million-selling Kindle author

Independent Writers Find New Hope With Amazon.com’s Book Publishing Plans

On the Importance of a Community and On Being a Generous Writer

