It’s been a  good movie-watching month so far, and I hope to keep it up all summer!  Let me know what good flicks you’re seeing as you seek the AC inside those theaters.  I’ve been bringing a hoodie along every time I go — brrr!  But it’s all right if it’s cold as long as the movies are hot. Am I right?

Film Grade Comment
True Grit (2010)

A

Excellent adaptation. The original will always rule, but this is (one of least favorite terms but applicable here) an instant classic.  The Coen Brothers seldom disappoint, and Jeff Bridges abides.
Super 8 (2011)

A

Spielberg strikes again. Nothing new here, but fun and well-made. It’s a little bit Goonies, a little E.T., even a little Stand By Me … and it’s non-stop watchable.
Independence Day (1996)

A-

Watched on July 4, of course!  Fun, schmaltzy, “Aliens invade and humans band together” flick. Favorite line: Cpt. Hillen (Will Smith) telling alien invader “Welcome to Earth!” and then clocking him.
X-Men: First Class (2011)

A

A terrific addition to the X-Men films for all us Marvel geeks.
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

A+

A perennial favorite!  “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” Thanks for the reminder.  Save Ferris!
The Breakfast Club (1985)

A++

One of my favorite movies EVER.  The defectives of Shermer High always entertain.
Cat Ballou (1965)

B+

Hysterically silly “western” worth watching for Lee Marvin’s performance alone.
Eagle Eye (2008)

B+

Rewatching this riveting thriller reminded me I’d liked it the first time, and I still do. Fun weekend entertainment … and Shia LeBeouf.
127 Hours (2010)

A-

Watched grudgingly, only because I’m a fan of director Danny Boyle. I didn’t go see this in the theater in last year’s Oscar rush because I don’t really see Ralston (real person the movie is about) as any kind of hero. But I’d be a big hypocrite if I didn’t separate eh film from the real-life story, and the film is good. Kudos to James Franco for his one-man show (thought only Sam Rockwell could do that, ha!).
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)

A-

Johnny Depp maintains command as Jack Sparrow (er, sorry, there should be a Captain in there somewhere). I wasn’t expected that much, but this movie is very entertaining. Ian McShane is a hoot, and I’m happy to see more of Sam Claflin (The Pillars of the Earth).
Horrible Bosses (2011)

B+

Hilarious!  Didn’t blow me away, but great fun.
