Rebecca
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve read this book before – what self-respecting avid book-lover hasn’t – and loved it. This time around, I loved it even more. Knowing the story and no longer being caught up in the suspense and mystery, I was able to focus during this reading on du Maurier’s rambling prose, imaginative description, and amazing rendering of the quintessential unreliable narrator. Rereading Rebecca was a treat, like having a box of delicious assorted chocolates.

As a movie freak, I also love Alfred Hitchcock’s film adaptation (1940), starring Laurence Olivier and Joan Fontaine. Though Fontaine, in my opinion, is too attractive and self-possessed to be the mousy and inexperienced second Mrs. de Winter, Olivier is absolutely perfect as Maxim.

I highly recommend both!

